Misty Watercolor Memories

November 10, 2010

This morning as I was driving to drop Lorelei off at daycare, I heard Starship’s “We Built This City” on the radio. (I chalk this up to listening to a station whose stated motto is, “We play everything.” This also explains why I found myself serenading Lorelei with “It’s Raining Men” during another recent commute.)

It made me smile, as I have distinct memories of being one of a group of giggling girls who called up our local radio station to request the song – then just out – during a friend’s sleepover birthday party back in 1985; we must have all been 11 or 12. And the birthday girl had recently been in my thoughts anyway, as she gave birth to twins yesterday.

Another friend of ours from high school is due to deliver her first child any day now. I’ve known her husband since we were tiny, back when he used to come trick-or-treating with me and my brother (who recently had a baby of his own, the indomitable Matthew). Yet another childhood friend had a baby boy back in September.

Where has the time gone? How did we all get so old? Is the Gilford school system spiking its water supply with some sort of time-delayed fertility booster?

So many unanswerable questions.

3 Responses to “Misty Watercolor Memories”

  1. Kalee Says:

    Now I’m curious who is having twins? I do feel like a lot of old friends our age are joining us in having their first babies. A couple Laconia friends of mine from dance class also just became moms for the first time.

  2. Sarah Says:

    Pete and I will be staying away from Gilford for a while if there is a water drinking induced baby boom…we (finally?) have everyone in school šŸ™‚ Maybe the boom wouldn’t apply to us though, since only Pete went to Gilford šŸ™‚

  3. jacarsen Says:

    You may be right–I wouldn’t let my guard down just yet, though! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

