Lowering My Standards

October 1, 2010

I have always been an anal-retentive of the highest order. I’m finding it’s not so easy to keep that up when you have a tiny person in your life who drools, yelps, and poops at all hours of the day and night (I guess if it’s someone else’s tiny person, it’s easier to ignore these things and carry on as normal, but when it’s your tiny person all bets are off).

We’ve been doing pretty well sleep-wise, and Lorelei’s on a semblance of a regular schedule (largely thanks to the lovely ladies at daycare), but your time isn’t really your own when you have an infant.

I’m finding that the easiest way to cope with this loss of control is triage: I’m late to things now. I leave the house unshowered and uncombed (the daycare ladies may well be wondering if we even have a shower, as they’ve seen no evidence that I’ve ever used it). And my housekeeping isn’t what it once was – which is a little frightening, given that what it once was was no great shakes to start with. A day we don’t accidentally eat a cat hair with dinner is a good housekeeping day around here.

As long as the peanut is fed, changed, and clothed in something weather-appropriate, if not sartorially dazzling; as long as I get to eat on a semi-regular basis (I turn into something resembling an angry drunk when I miss a meal); as long as none of us is truly filthy to the point of being offensive when we leave the house; and as long as both cats are alive and accounted for, I think we’re doing pretty well.

3 Responses to “Lowering My Standards”

  1. dkzody Says:

    Wait till the peanut starts walking and making other messes around the house. My daughter is discovering this phase now that my granddaughter is 16 months. I personally love it because said daughter did even worse at that age.

  2. jacarsen Says:

    Payback is sweet! 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

  3. Chris Foster Says:

    Yeah, you think the place is a mess now – just wait. Ziah is getting better as we have been working on this for a while but it was like another full time job. I suggest working on picking up at a early age.


Leave a Reply

