Sniffly Baby

September 13, 2010

Last night, Lorelei – always a very snarfly baby at the best of times – got extra stuffy and sneezy. We’re chalking it up to the wealth of new germs she’s been exposed to at daycare recently.

Around 3 a.m., I swung into action and broke out the brand-new temporal artery thermometer. It’s very baby-friendly; you swipe it across your child’s forehead rather than sticking it in her ear (or, even less fun, sticking it in her other end). I was baffled as to why it didn’t register above 78.4 degrees until it occurred to me that the cap was still on it. Once I cleared that particular hurdle, she registered just a hair above normal, so I got out the baby acetaminophen. And then I realized I had no idea what the correct dose would be for a baby of her diminutive size.

3 a.m. is not parenting’s finest hour, at least where I’m concerned.

I did manage to locate, and use more or less successfully, the bulb aspirator that they insisted on sending us home from the hospital with after Lorelei was born (I kept removing it from the bassinet so I wouldn’t forget to pack it, and the nurses kept replacing it with a brand-new one. Had we taken them all, we could have simultaneously sucked the snot out of Octomom’s entire brood at once.)

Lorelei seems to be doing better today and has remained in very good spirits throughout – I think she was pretty excited to have both mommy and daddy awake and fussing over her in the middle of the night, a time when there’s generally not a whole lot shaking around here. I hope she doesn’t get accustomed to having the wee hours be her peak hours. I’d have to start sending her to daycare with a jump-start bottle of Mountain Dew, which I imagine is frowned upon for any number of reasons.

Leave a Reply

