Baby Talk

July 30, 2010

Everyone says that you should talk to, and sing to, your baby from his or her earliest days. (This is assuming you weren’t one of of those über-mommies who strapped an iPod loaded with Mozart and Beethoven to your belly as soon as the pregnancy test came back positive, which I decidedly wasn’t. I was too busy focusing on our joint food intake.)

I’m not much of a singer – I know the baby doesn’t care about me being in tune, which I never am, but every time I try to think of a baby-appropriate song my mind goes completely blank. Once I started in on a chorus of Rockabye Baby, until I really thought about the lyrics: When the bough breaks the cradle will fall…and down will come baby, cradle and all…who the hell came up with that one? (I hope whoever it was didn’t run a day care center.) I’ve had some success with Build Me Up, Buttercup, which has a tempo that seems to soothe frayed baby nerves when coupled with well-timed bouncing.

Eric has done much better with the singing than I have, serenading her with Beatles standards and other classic hits. He’s also created a custom version of Copacabana: Her name was Lorelei…she was a baby…

Anyway, given that the singing has largely been a nonstarter for me, I’m primarily left with talking to Lorelei, and she’s not much of a conversationalist. I don’t really know what her interests are – she doesn’t go see a lot of movies, and she’s been noncommittal on the Sox’s injury-plagued season.

They say when they’re tiny they just like to hear your voice, so I’ve started reading aloud to her from whatever I’m reading. Unfortunately, I’m on my second highly gory Jeffery Deaver thriller of the summer. If her first words are “blood spatter analysis,” we’ll know why.

One Response to “Baby Talk”

  1. metamediasam Says:

    Great post! Keeping in mind soothing baby’s nerves with song: I once tried to ease Tony’s crying by singing “You Are My Sunshine” in the preemie ward. When I got to the “Please don’t take my sunshine away…” part, I began bawling worse than Tony, then a nurse had to come pat me on the back.


Leave a Reply

