A Prediction from the Doc

June 11, 2010

I just came back from my ob/gyn, and her prediction, gazing into the crystal ball of my belly, is that “you will find labor sometime this weekend.” Seems to me that labor will actually be the one finding me, but I’ll take it. Failing that, my next appointment is scheduled for Wednesday, at which point we discuss Plan B (i.e., taking active steps to dislodge the Olive rather than waiting for her to emerge on her own terms).

I have a sneaking suspicion that she’s holding out for in-utero fried dough tomorrow at Portsmouth’s Market Square Day, but I’ve tried to explain to her that Mama’s probably not going to be dragging her achy self to the festival in any event (alas, regardless of what anyone says, there’s no reasoning with a fetus).

I just hope she’s not planning to take after her father, Eric “Fortnight” Foster, who held out for two full weeks past his due date (in the heat of August, no less), only to burst forth like greased lightning when he was finally good and ready.

3 Responses to “A Prediction from the Doc”

  1. Chris Foster Says:

    I just want to say that I enjoy your almost daily thoughts. Take care and it will go by fast unless you have to sleep on one of those chair/couches for 4 days. I know you’ll be breathing but make sure my brother does as well. Take care, we are all thinking of you.

  2. Amy Thurber Says:

    From no personal experience of my own — I’ve heard that lobster is a good way to get things moving along. Even if it isn’t true — lobster, so win-win!

  3. Katherine Hughes Says:

    Hurry up, kid! 🙂


Leave a Reply

