Bottoms-Up Baby

May 19, 2010

The baby’s been moving so much lately that it was a little weird yesterday morning, when I didn’t feel anything at all for a few hours. I began to worry that I’d buried her underneath an avalanche of Jax (yes, I truly have a problem – once I open a bag I can’t stop eating them. Eric is in the process of forming a local chapter of Jax-Anon). But she started moving again later in the day, poking my belly in all directions as usual.

The doctor has told me that she’s head-down, which is good at this point in the pregnancy (the technical term is apparently vertex, which is far preferable to transverse – baby lying sideways, which just doesn’t work for delivery any way you slice it), but it makes for a very strange image. I’m picturing her upside-down, head wedged somewhere in my pelvis, flailing her little arms and legs amidst a hail of falling Jax.

And yes, I know the anatomy doesn’t really work that way, which is a good thing since she’d probably emerge as orange as an Oompa-Loompa.

2 Responses to “Bottoms-Up Baby”


  1. […] more in the neighborhood of a demure seven-pounder (like Eric and I both were). Perhaps all the Jax have been plumping up the Olive like a paté goose. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]


  2. […] more in the neighborhood of a demure seven-pounder (like Eric and I both were). Perhaps all the Jax have been plumping up the Olive like a paté […]


Leave a Reply

