Pregnancy, Week 33: Some random observations

April 22, 2010

1. All my life, I’ve had a freakishly deep belly button. Its proximity to all of my internal organs – separated by only a thin piece of skin – has always kind of creeped me out a little. Today, I noticed I could see bottom for the first time ever. I cleaned out a piece of gunky lint that probably dated back to the Reagan era (I also found 14 cents in assorted change).

2. I tend to forget how much bigger I am now than I used to be, until I realize how much noisier the wooden floorboards and stair treads of our house have become under my lumbering gait. Sneaking up on Eric or the cats (admittedly not something I ever spent a whole lot of time doing) is no longer an option.

3. Momentum is my friend – a rolling start is very helpful when attempting to get out of bed or up off the couch.

4. All of my maternity tops fit well everywhere except the forearms, where they’re much too tight. Either Liz Lange is working from a faulty pattern, or there’s something Popeye-like about my general build I’ve never noticed before. If the Olive starts craving a lot of spinach, I’m going to worry.

Leave a Reply

