Songs About Preggos

April 8, 2010

As I was lamenting to Eric, there are so few of these. Perhaps that’s not surprising. Eric claims this is because nothing rhymes with preggo except “Eggo,” but I think more sinister forces are at play (and, speaking from experience, I can firmly attest to the direct link between pregnancy and frozen waffle consumption – that song is just begging to be written).

Looking online, I found:

1. The lyrical Ice Cube classic “Laugh Now, Cry Later”: Bun in the oven, it belong to my cousin…

2. The Funkoars’ “And Now For Something Completely Different”: I don’t want no bun in the oven… (followed by a utterly unprintable line detailing his contraceptive measures)

3. Jethro Tull, “Living In These Hard Times”: Another bun in the oven – oh, what to do?

Maybe a better course of action would be to adapt old classics for the preggo set:

Tom Jones
Well, she’s all you’d ever want
She’s the kind I like to flaunt and take to dinner
But she always knows her place
She’s got style, she’s got grace – she’s a winner
She’s a preggo
Oh, whoa, whoa, she’s a preggo

Jimi Hendrix
I wanna take you home
I won’t do you no harm, no
You’ve got to be all mine, all mine
Oooh, foxy preggo

Lionel Richie (ideal for those expecting triplets)
You’re once…twice…three times a preggo…

Leave a Reply

