Genetics

April 6, 2010

The baby has now started moving so emphatically that I can occasionally see definite movement through my clothes – and a few times, she’s jostled whatever book I’m reading (TV tables have nothing on pregnant bellies when it comes to having a convenient spot to prop up a book).

This is fun but a little disconcerting – the pregnancy books don’t mention the part about feeling like Sigourney Weaver in Alien. Eric has instructed me to call him at work should she actually burst through at any point.

I’m starting to wonder what she’s going to look like  – some of the mystery is gone in that Eric and I are both a) white, b) blue-eyed, and c) extremely pale. So we know she’s not going to emerge a rich shade of mocha (and if she does, I’m certain that Eric will be dialing 888-45-MAURY so fast it will make my head spin).

Beyond that, though, it’s a crap shoot. Will she inherit Eric’s cute nose? His chubby fingers? My year-round propensity to sweat like a stevedore? I hope she doesn’t get my grandmother’s truly prodigious ears, which started out relatively normal-sized but steadily grew over the course of her life; by the time she passed away at the age of 94, they hung off the sides of her head like dessert plates.

One Response to “Genetics”

  1. Kristy Says:

    Your ears and your nose never stop growing. Also your eyes are almost the same size at birth as they will be as an adult. (Useful information I retained from biology class.)

    I gave birth to a clone of myself, then a clone of my husband. There is no denying their parentage. It makes it hard to pretend we don’t know them when they misbehave in public.


Leave a Reply

