Baby Shower!

March 8, 2010

Yesterday we had a surprise baby shower for Alicia, which was a lot of fun – her mom and sister did a great job planning it.

I’m realizing there’s a great deal I need to learn. I am just now starting to grasp the distinctions between binky (pacifier), boppy (open doughnut sort of pillow with various baby-related uses), and bumbo (molded plastic cube-like seat that you wedge a baby into so that he/she can sit up unassisted).

The bumbo, frankly, cracks me up – I am picturing a group of guys sitting around a TV set lodged in their respective bumbos. “Dude, can you grab me another beer while you’re up? I’m all bumboed in here.” There is also some degree of controversy surrounding the bumbo – one of the day cares I visited proudly proclaimed that they were a bumbo-free zone, based on the belief that babies should be free to roam and explore. (In practice, these free-range babies engaged in a lot of lolling around and gnawing on the corners of low baby-safe tables – the ones I saw elsewhere sitting up in their bumbos had a bit more dignity about them).

I also found out yesterday that many people have themed nurseries. This floored me, much in the same way it did when people asked what our wedding colors were (I knew I’d be wearing white, but that was about as far as I ever got). There’s some deep undercurrent of female knowledge here that apparently completely bypassed both me and my mom – we really need to get out more.

Royringo, apparently, will be living large in a jungle-themed room, and many of the presents yesterday featured adorable monkeys and gorillas. I’ve been trying to come up with a theme for the Olive’s room. A few are definite nonstarters – magical hemlock forest, crossbows & armaments, scary bassinet monsters, etc.

Given how partial I am to all things edible, I’m thinking smoked meats, maybe, which would lend itself nicely to a hard salami mobile. Or cheeses from around the world (we can put her baby powder in one of those shiny green Kraft parmesan shakers).

2 Responses to “Baby Shower!”


  1. […] 13, 2010 Well, just as we surprised Alicia a few weeks back, this past weekend was my turn to be surprised. My mom and two of my friends sneakily arranged a […]


  2. […] just as we surprised Alicia a few weeks back, this past weekend was my turn to be surprised. My mom and two of my friends sneakily arranged a […]


Leave a Reply

