I Have Lost the Battle (and Possibly the War)

February 4, 2010

Ever since we started dating – even before we were living together – Eric has been pushing me for a TV in the bedroom. His reasons:

1. There are times it’s nice to snuggle up and watch a movie in bed.

2. It would enable Eric to watch TV with the door closed, so as not to disturb my work (my office is in an open loft directly above the living room TV).

3. We’re not Amish.

Now that the Olive is on the way, the arguments have stepped up further:

4. Our sleep is going to be disrupted by the baby; multiple TVs would give Eric more options as to where to watch if I’m trying to work, nurse, or rest.

5. The baby and Eric don’t want to disturb me when they watch Yo Gabba Gabba together (I must say, I’d never heard of Yo Gabba Gabba and thought he was making it up. Apparently it’s a real show. So much to learn).

6. We’re building a new addition to accommodate said baby; she will get our current bedroom and Eric and I will be in the new bedroom. In the building plans, of his own volition (unless Eric slipped him a few bucks I’m unaware of), our contractor included a built-in TV cabinet opposite the bed. “It’s clearly meant to be,” quoth Eric.

7. We’re still not Amish.

I have to admit he’s right on many of these counts. Additionally, he is unmoved by my claimed inability to fall asleep with a TV blaring at me, as I do this on a near-nightly basis on our living room couch.

I am getting ready to wave the white flag. It’s still better than a concurrent baby/puppy combo, I guess – TVs don’t drool, chew on shoes, or require walkies.

2 Responses to “I Have Lost the Battle (and Possibly the War)”

  1. Kristyn Says:

    Jen, I have to side with Eric on this one. If you end up with a “party baby” (like both of ours) who sleeps occasionally during the day but is up all night looking for someone to hold her, you’ll be looking forward to the 1:30 a.m. viewing of Property Virgins or the 3:00 a.m. re-run of Cold Case.

  2. jacarsen Says:

    Kristyn, I LOVE the image of the “party baby.” I’m picturing an infant with a tiny lampshade on her head. 🙂


Leave a Reply

