My Day as a Basket Case

December 6, 2009

So until yesterday, I’d largely pooh-poohed the whole idea of pregnancy hormones turning otherwise sane women into emotional basket cases.

And then I woke up crying for no reason at all. I continued to cry throughout the day, with the waterworks being triggered by:

  • Drinking borderline-expired milk
  • Feeling unmotivated to work
  • A vague yet unsubstantiated sense that I might have a cavity
  • Eric telling me he’d always love me
  • Going to the library and finding that the book I wanted was checked out
  • Eating too many potato chips

I was a wreck for no reason at all. I knew I was being completely insane but simply felt powerless to get a grip. Only an afternoon of Gilmore Girls and wanton cookie-eating pulled me out of it. (Eric, incidentally, is a saint – had the shoe been on the other foot, I would have been tempted to grab the cats and the car keys and never come back.)

And today? I could give Pollyanna a run for her money. The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, the whole world is bursting (nay, glistening) with limitless possibilities.

Damn Olive. On behalf of pregnant women everywhere, I am truly sorry.

Leave a Reply

