So Let’s Root, Root Root for the Home Team…

December 15, 2009

This morning, Eric reported that the Red Sox have just signed Angels pitcher John Lackey to a 5-year deal. I don’t know much about Lackey, but he’s always struck me as an overrated mouth-breather.

Regardless, it got me to thinking about our hometown sports teams and the irrational nature of fandom. I know people who have formed lifelong attachments to teams from cities they’ve never even visited, on the basis of random factors like team colors or appealing mascots (personally, I’ve always thought the Carolina Panther bears a striking resemblance to Brodie when she’s hissing at Tasha).

Most of us, however, develop our allegiances early in life, aided by the strongarm tactics of our families. If you’re a lifelong Cubs fan, for example, the idea of your children growing up rooting for the White Sox is anathema (and vice versa) – you’d probably let them develop a taste for armed robbery first. So you prime them early on, explaining who the “good guys” and the “bad guys” are, intently sitting them down in front of live and/or televised games, and bedecking them in a panoply of team fanwear from the onesie days onward.

It’s a lot of responsibility to take on. I fear that I am not quite up to this task, having grown up in a largely sports-agnostic household. I root for the New England teams, but I also root to a lesser extent for the teams from other cities I have ties to (I lived in Chicago for 7 years and cheer for both the Cubs and the White Sox, something the native Chicagoans I know find as distasteful and inexplicable as licking the sidewalk in front of the Sears Tower).

Fortunately, Eric is on top of things and will start our kid off on the right path. I believe there may already be a tiny Tom Brady jersey stashed away somewhere.

One Response to “So Let’s Root, Root Root for the Home Team…”

  1. Katherine Says:

    I’m still stuck on this Yankees issue. I think it’s part of a larger geographical identity crisis. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

